Our CEO and Advisory Board

The Honourable Shane L Stone AC PGDK QC

Photo of the Honourable Shane L Stone AC PGDK QCShane Stone’s appointment as head of the North Queensland Livestock Industry Recovery Agency further builds on a life dedicated to public service.

The former Chief Minister of the Northern Territory served in the Northern Territory Legislative Assembly for almost 10 years. His portfolios included Attorney-General, Education and the Arts (including remote regional schools), Employment and Training, Mines and Energy, Industries and Development and Asian Relations and Trade. He had a close working relationship with the NT cattle industry over many years especially the live trade to Indonesia, Philippines and Brunei.

In 2014 Mr Stone was appointed Chairman of Northern Australian Advisory Group by then Prime Minister Tony Abbott.

Prior to entering parliament Mr Stone worked as a primary school teacher and subsequently trained as a barrister. He worked on the Royal Commission into Australian Meat Industry in 1982.

Mr Stone was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2001 and appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia in 2006 for his service to politics, industry and bi-lateral relations between Australia and the Asia-Pacific region.

Having grown up in Wodonga on the NSW/Victorian border Mr Stone understands the quiet strength of country Australians who work hard to give their families a decent life and look out for each other in the good and not-so-good times.

He believes a person should be regarded for their deeds and not their possessions, an ethos that has guided him personally and professionally.

This ethos, and his extensive experience, position Mr Stone well to lead the North Queensland Livestock Industry Recovery Agency.

He reports directly to the Prime Minister and is supported by an Advisory Board comprising representatives from the northern cattle industry, affected communities and government representatives.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board will support Shane Stone AC QC and the North Queensland Livestock Recovery Agency (NQLIRA) with the recovery of the northern livestock industry. The Board comprises members with on-the-ground livestock industry experience, as well as those with experience in government and non-government organisations. The Board will play a vital role in providing expert advice to the NQLIRA, especially as a long-term recovery strategy is developed.

Tracey Hayes

Tracey is a senior leader in business and industry with considerable experience as a Chief Executive Officer, Board Chair, Company Director and Board Member. A strong business professional with substantial Asian engagement experience, skilled in crisis management, public affairs, negotiation, corporate social responsibility and strategic development.

Tracey is Chair of the Darwin Waterfront Corporation, a member of the Order of Australia Honours Council, and is on the board of the Australia Indonesia Institute and the Cooperative Research Centre for Northern Australia.

A long- term Territorian, pastoralist, pilot, Justice of the Peace and small business owner, Tracey was the first female Chief Executive Officer of the Northern Territory Cattlemen's Association and was tasked with leading the billion-dollar NT pastoral industry.

Tracey has a Global Executive Master of Business from the University of Sydney, studied Business Management and Rangeland Management with The University of Queensland and has continued her Agribusiness studies with the Harvard Business School short course program.

Don Heatley OAM

Don Heatley OAM is a fifth generation north Queensland cattle farmer, and is the Chair of the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research Commission.

Don has two stations and 8,000 head of cattle on the lower Burdekin River, and his family business produces beef for highly specialised markets in Korea, Japan and the United States. Don is a passionate and committed advocate for both promotion of Australian agribusiness interests overseas and investing in the strengthening of domestic agribusiness in developing countries.

Don has more than 30 years’ experience promoting the Australian beef industry internationally, including as former chairman of Meat and Livestock Australia, and through roles on state livestock councils and the Cattle Council of Australia.

Don has a strong personal interest in the provision of research and development support to domestic beef industries throughout Southeast Asia and the Middle East. 

Greg Campbell

Greg Campbell is the Mayor of Cloncurry Shire Council. He was first elected as Mayor in 2016, having previously served as Deputy Mayor from 2008 to 2012, and as a Councillor from 2004 to 2008. Greg and his family also operate a beef cattle business, based on two properties in the McKinlay district.

Greg is an active member of the Cloncurry community, and sits on a number of committees in the area. He is Deputy Chair of the North West Regional Roads Group, and an executive committee member of the Mount Isa to Townsville Economic Zone. Greg also serves as a committee member of the LGAQ Resource Communities Advisory Committee, and is a member of Regional Development Australia Townsville North West.

Greg attended the local Cloncurry School until grade 12, before completing an apprenticeship with NORQEB (now known as Ergon Energy) as an electrician. He worked in various technical and managerial roles during his time with Ergon, with responsibility for the area between Mt Isa and Hughenden.

David Galvin

David Galvin is the former chair of the Australian Livestock Export Corporation (Livecorp) and has extensive experience in the northern pastoral industry, land management, infrastructure and tourism development.

David served as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Indigenous Land Corporation (ILC) from 2001 to 2012, where he oversaw the effective and efficient management of the ILC’s businesses, programs and responsibilities throughout Australia. During that time the ILC was in the top-ten largest cattle producers in Australia.

He is an independent Director of the Australian Livestock Exporters’ Council, non-member Director of the Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance Northern Territory (chair of the Audit and Risk Committee), an Advisory Board Member of Paga Hill Development Company in Papua New Guinea, Managing Director of Tubarao Investments Pty Ltd and on the Executive Committee of the Queensland Livestock Export Association.

David was the CEO of the Torres Strait Regional Authority from 1995 to 2000, and the Director of Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia from 2010 to 2012.

David holds a Master of International Development from Deakin University, Bachelor of Arts from the University of Queensland, a Member of Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Certified CEO.

Daryl Quinlivan

Daryl Quinlivan is the Secretary of the Department of Agriculture. Daryl is a career public servant who was the Head of Office at the Productivity Commission before his appointment as Secretary of the Department in 2015.

Daryl has worked in a number of agencies including the Department of Transport and Regional Services and the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, and also served as an adviser to the then Assistant Treasurer.

Daryl previously worked in the former Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry from 1999 to 2010 as both a Deputy Secretary and First Assistant Secretary. He then joined the Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy as a Deputy Secretary before moving to the Productivity Commission in 2012.

Daryl holds a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) from Monash University and a Bachelor of Economics from the Australian National University.